Daniel 7 - The 4 Beasts & The Little Horn

Daniel is given a vision of 4 beasts that come up out of the sea. The 1st is a lion; the 2nd is a bear; the 3rd is a leopard; and the 4th is described as terrifying, frightening, and very powerful. These beasts represent literal earthly kingdoms. Daniel 7:17 says "These great beasts, which are four, are four kings, which shall arise out of the earth." Daniel 7:23 further explains these beasts are not just kings, but kingdoms by saying, "The fourth beast shall be the fourth kingdom upon earth, which shall be diverse from all kingdoms, and shall devour the whole earth, and shall tread it down, and break it in pieces."

1)    Lion = Babylon - Because Daniel 8 reveals the identity of the 2nd and 3rd beasts, Babylon is revealed as the 1st beast by default. The Daniel 2 prophecy also reveals that Babylon is the 1st beast because it parallels with this prophecy.

Bear = Media/Persia - The 2 horned ram in Dan. 8:20 reveals that this 2nd beast is Media/Persia. This is confirmed by the identification of the 3rd beast.

3)    Leopard = Greece - This beast has 4 heads just as the goat of Dan. 8:22 has 4 horns. So this 3rd beast is therefore revealed as Greece in Dan. 8:21. Secular history tells us that the large horn of the goat is Alexander the Great that conquered the Medo-Persian Empire. Alexander the Great died suddenly at the height of his reign and his 4 generals split the kingdom of Greece into 4 divisions as Dan. 8:8 describes. The Leopard is so closely identified with the goat that represents Greece that we can confidently conclude that the 2 horned ram identifies as Media and Persia. And therefore the Medo-Persian Empire represents the bear of Dan. 7. 

So as we can see, the Dan. 7 prophecy parallels the Dan. 2 prophecy of the statue.

Babylon - Medo/Persia - Greece - Rome
Lion - Bear - Leopard - Dragon/Beast
Head - Chest/Arms - Belly/Thighs - Legs/Feet
Gold - Silver - Bronze - Iron - Iron/Clay

The ten horns are ten kings who will come from this kingdom. After them another king will arise, different from the earlier ones; he will subdue three kings. Dan. 7:24

The ten horns/kingdoms/divisions of the Roman Empire were: 

        1)Alemanni, now Germany 
        2)Franks, now France
        3)Burgundians, now Switzerland
        4)Suevi, now Portugul
        5)Lombards, now Italy
        6)Visigoths, now Spain
        7)Anglo-Saxons, now England
        8)Ostrogoths, exterminated/subdued by the little horn
        9)Vandals, exterminated/subdued by the little horn
        10)Heruli, exterminated/subdued by the little horn

We know that these are the 10 horns because these kingdoms came out of the Roman Empire, the little horn comes after these kingdoms, and 3 of these horns were subdued by the little horn. There is no other theory that matches all of these criteria. 

5)    Little Horn = the Papacy/Catholic Church/Vatican City

And he shall speak great words against the most High, and shall wear out the saints of the most High, and think to change times and laws: and they shall be given into his hand until a time and times and the dividing of time. Dan. 7:25 

This little horn is the Papacy. It changed God’s ten commandment laws and the time of the Sabbath and Holy Days. A prophetic “time” is a year, “times” is 2 years, and “the dividing of time” is 6 months, equaling 3.5 years or 42 months or 1260 days, which equals 1260 years that the little horn wore out the saints of the most High. This was otherwise known as the Dark Ages when the Papacy ruled from 538ad to 1798ad.

And once again, this prophecy concludes with Christ's return to this earth to establish the Kingdom of God.